Curriculum 2016- 2017

Please click on the year groups below to see our long term curriculum plans for Year 1 to Year 6:

Long term overview all subjects Y1
Long term overview all subjects Y2
Long term overview all subjects Y3
Long term overview all subjects Y4
Long term overview all subjects Y5
Long term overview all subjects Y6

Please click on the titles of the topics below to read about the curriculum your child covers in school. If you would like to know more about any of the curriculum please do not hesitate to speak to one of the teachers in the appropriate year group – they are always happy to discuss your child’s education with you.

Year 1:

Autumn 1: Sensational Seasons
Autumn 2: Toys
Spring 1: Food
Spring 2: Buildings
Summer 1: Buildings continued
Summer 2:

Year 2:

Autumn 1: Transport
Autumn 2: Fire Fire
Spring 1: Land Across the Sea
Spring 2: Land Across the Sea Continued
Summer 1:Time Detectives
Summer 2:

Year 3:

Autumn 1: Beautiful Britain
Autumn 2: Victorian Britain
Spring 1: Victorian Britain continued
Spring 2: Food
Summer 1: Ancient Egypt
Summer 2:

Year 4:

Autumn 1: Ancient Greece
Autumn 2: Ancient Greece continued
Spring 1: Passport to Europe
Spring 2: Passport to Europe Continued
Summer 1: Stone Age to Iron Age
Summer 2:

Year 5:

Autumn 1: The Romans
Autumn 2: The Romans continued
Spring 1: Passport Around the World
Spring 2: Passport Around the World Continued
Summer 1: Anglo Saxons
Summer 2:

Year 6:

Autumn 1: Rivers
Autumn 2: Liverpool
Spring 1: Liverpool continued
Spring 2: The Vikings
Summer 1: The Vikings continued
Summer 2:


Teaching of Phonics

In Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1 your children will follow Letters and Sounds which sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children starting by the age of five, with the aim of them becoming fluent readers by age seven. Once this has been completed your children will progress onto the Assertive Mentoring Spelling System which will continue through Key Stage 2.


Teaching of Reading

Across both Key Stage 1 and 2 your children will follow Oxford Reading Tree and the Oxford book bands until they are confident independent readers. At this point they will have access to free choice books to enable the children to develop stamina for reading. During Guided Reading sessions in class your children will also be reading Project X books which are also a systematic reading scheme to help develop the wider skills of reading for enjoyment.


Click on the links below to see the previous topics covered in previous school years:

2012- 2013
2013- 2014
2014- 2015
2015- 2016