Please click on the year groups below to see our long term curriculum plans for Year 1 to Year 6:

Long term overview all subjects Y1

Long term overview all subjects Y2

Long term overview all subjects Y3

Long term overview all subjects Y4

Long term overview all subjects Y5

Long term overview all subjects Y6


Please click on the titles of the topics below to read about the curriculum your child covers in school. If you would like to know more about any of the curriculum please do not hesitate to speak to one of the teachers in the appropriate year group – they are always happy to discuss your child’s education with you.


Year 1:

Autumn 1: Sensational Seasons

Autumn 2: Toys

Spring 1: Food

Spring 2: Buildings

Summer 1: Buildings continued

Summer 2: Holidays


Year 2:

Autumn 1: Transport

Autumn 2: Fire Fire

Spring 1: Land Across the Sea

Spring 2: Land Across the Sea Continued

Summer 1:Time Detectives

Summer 2: Time Detectives continued


Year 3:

Autumn 1: Beautiful Britain

Autumn 2: Victorian Britain

Spring 1: Victorian Britain continued

Spring 2: Food

Summer 1: Ancient Egypt

Summer 2: Ancient Egypt continued


Year 4:

Autumn 1: Ancient Greece

Autumn 2: Ancient Greece continued

Spring 1: Passport to Europe

Spring 2: Passport to Europe Continued

Summer 1: Stone Age to Iron Age

Summer 2: Stone Age to Iron Age continued


Year 5:

Autumn 1: The Romans

Autumn 2: The Romans continued

Spring 1: Passport Around the World

Spring 2: Passport Around the World Continued

Summer 1: Anglo Saxons

Summer 2: Anglo Saxons continued


Year 6:

Autumn 1: Rivers

Autumn 2: Liverpool

Spring 1: Liverpool continued

Spring 2: The Vikings

Summer 1: The Vikings continued

Summer 2: Tha Mayan Civilisation


Teaching of Phonics

In Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1 your children will follow Letters and Sounds which sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children starting by the age of five, with the aim of them becoming fluent readers by age seven. Once this has been completed your children will progress onto the Assertive Mentoring Spelling System which will continue through Key Stage 2.


Teaching of Reading

Across both Key Stage 1 and 2 your children will follow Oxford Reading Tree and the Oxford book bands until they are confident independent readers. At this point they will have access to free choice books to enable the children to develop stamina for reading. During Guided Reading sessions in class your children will also be reading Project X books which are also a systematic reading scheme to help develop the wider skills of reading for enjoyment.


Return to main curriculum page